|
|
![]() |
#1 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y.
Posts: 1,676
Likes: 3,374
Liked 1,820 Times in 425 Posts
|
![]()
Maybe division director ordered a rerun as both index were displayed ?
That would make sense .
__________________
james perrone 1290 STK |
![]() |
![]() |
Liked |
![]() |
#2 |
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bradenton FL
Posts: 203
Likes: 2,212
Liked 183 Times in 82 Posts
|
![]()
That would be the wrong call as once you stage you own the dial in. Jim should have gotten the competition bye the second round. Agree this was a bad call on the DD. Lucky if my calculations are correct to did not effect anyone in the top 10 points.
__________________
Brian Stk B200 |
![]() |
![]() |
Liked |
![]() |
#3 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Lowcountry.
Posts: 2,972
Likes: 2,584
Liked 2,718 Times in 958 Posts
|
![]()
What in God's name is going on at these races.
D7 and D2 shame! D6 is like a secret society. I don't recall seeing this crap in D1, D3 and D4 or am I wrong? |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Elgin,IL
Posts: 1,339
Likes: 5
Liked 282 Times in 103 Posts
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 469
Likes: 308
Liked 561 Times in 138 Posts
|
![]()
I’m confused, what should Troy do at this point? If The Who’s who of D2 made the decision as it is now, what should be rectified? Just for future reference…thank you!
Tim Stickles
__________________
Tim Stickles |
![]() |
![]() |
Liked |
![]() |
#6 |
Live Reporter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hickory, Ky
Posts: 10,635
Likes: 1,929
Liked 10,694 Times in 2,227 Posts
|
![]()
Simple, the person making the decision should know and understand the rules in the rule book then apply them.
The DD has the power to change the outcome of a race but should they use it. It's spelled out in the race procedures. It wasn't a first or worst ruling. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,446
Likes: 614
Liked 1,919 Times in 576 Posts
|
![]()
I have been burned by a wrong dial in before. After that happened I check my dial in every round before I pull in to the pre stage beam. I have had to get it corrected several times. Once you stage and the race is on you own the dial on the board. Mistakes do happen and you have to do what you need to do by making sure your dial is correct.
__________________
Mike Pearson 2485 SS |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clemmons, NC
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Liked 11 Times in 6 Posts
|
![]()
Just to clarify something for everyone and clear up any misconceptions.....per the NHRA rulebook (Section 2, Page 2 under Staging in the 2022 book) a racer has accepted the dial-in when they PRE-STAGE not stage. This has apparently been the rule for years and it bit me at the Charlotte national event a few years ago when I backed out of the pre-staged beam and told them the dial-in was wrong and they wouldn't change it and they fired the tree and red lighted me.
|
![]() |
![]() |
Liked |
![]() |
#9 |
Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Perry, GA
Posts: 331
Likes: 11
Liked 239 Times in 90 Posts
|
![]()
The fact that Casey was pushed off the track with track equipment would be a "disqualification" of the run per the Rule Book. Bye runs are the only allowed run where you do not have to cross the finish line under power. You can not get a "time" when being pushed
|
![]() |
![]() |
Liked |
![]() |
#10 |
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alpine, NJ
Posts: 568
Likes: 188
Liked 192 Times in 83 Posts
|
![]()
While I get the jist of the conversation, that started on the Monday after the race, I'm confused as to what Huntzberry was supposed to do after the fact??..
If Casey had a win ticket, how does the loser of the previous round appear for the next round, unless an indication was made that Casey was broke.. that would give his next opponent a competition bye.. My confusion comes in with, did Huntzberry get reinstated??.. I'm thinking that Casey had Huntzberry, and Casey got the win slip, sending him to the next round.. OOOOORRR, did I miss something.. All that said, it appears that D2 failed, and let the race continue, SOME HOW!! |
![]() |
![]() |
Liked |
![]() |
|
|