|
![]() |
#11 |
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Covina, CA
Posts: 474
Likes: 109
Liked 89 Times in 19 Posts
|
![]()
Here's an amendment to the staging rule as posted on the NHRA web page before Indy:
STAGING DELETE: “When staging in Super Stock, Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas, or Super Street categories, both contestants must activate their pre-stage lights before either may advance into the stage beams.” REPLACE WITH: “When staging in Super Stock, Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas, Super Street, or Competition Eliminator categories, both contestants must activate their pre-stage lights before either may advance into the stage beams.” Apparently, they only just now added Comp to the list. c |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#12 |
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chewelah wa
Posts: 283
Likes: 0
Liked 11 Times in 4 Posts
|
![]()
chuck does that mean it is ok to wait for the guy to light his top bulb, and then roll in and light both with out pausing ? seems to me the second guy has a little bit of a advantage?
__________________
larry dowty 6388 SS |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#13 |
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 152
Likes: 0
Liked 19 Times in 6 Posts
|
![]()
It just means that a driver can not stage until the other driver is pre staged. If you choose to prestage 2nd and roll right in and stage in one big motion, so be it.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#14 |
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chewelah wa
Posts: 283
Likes: 0
Liked 11 Times in 4 Posts
|
![]()
i did not know that was legal ok with me just did not know the second guy could go in with out stopping.
__________________
larry dowty 6388 SS |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#15 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Elgin,IL
Posts: 1,340
Likes: 5
Liked 282 Times in 103 Posts
|
![]()
Here is another staging scenario that happened to a friend of mine at a bracket race.I think I am explaining this right......
Driver A lights the pre-stage.Driver B lights the pre-stage.Driver A stages.Driver B notices that his dial-in is NOT correct.He doesn't stage.Autostart takes over,redlight for Driver B.Driver A makes the pass down track. Driver B goes to the tower and says he wants a rerun and that the dial-in wasn't correct,that is why he didn't stage.Driver A says that he never should have pre-staged if the dial-in was not correct. Who is right? What should have happened? Rerun or loss for Driver B? Last edited by 442OLDS; 09-07-2009 at 09:19 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#16 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: from Vancouver BC Canada, now in Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,311
Likes: 317
Liked 1,105 Times in 303 Posts
|
![]()
I agree, you should always check the dial before lighting the 1rst bulb. If you already have the pre stage bulb lit, and then notice the dial is wrong, I would back out right away, but the starter may or may not allow that. My opinion is, you light the first bulb, you "bought" the dial.
__________________
NHRA 6390 STK M/S 85 Mustang |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#17 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 1,366
Likes: 6
Liked 70 Times in 29 Posts
|
![]()
I'm with Rory on that
__________________
Chris Bowman The Mountain State Mustang 1984 Mustang GT350 |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#18 |
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lynden ,WA
Posts: 820
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
|
![]()
Once you prestage you own it.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#19 |
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 109
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
![]()
Art, Once you have prestaged first the other guy can go in as fast as they like. They still had to light one bulb at a time, and once they are in now with three bulbs lit the autostart clock has started for you to be staged or timed out. If you feel the need to stage first, then I suggest you let the other guy prestage first and then roll in at a faster pace. Autostart has cleaned up about 90% of the staging games. It helps prevent getting hometowned by a track.
Last edited by Bimbo Jones; 09-08-2009 at 01:16 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#20 |
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chewelah wa
Posts: 283
Likes: 0
Liked 11 Times in 4 Posts
|
![]()
ART after our talk i called our starter and bimbo jones is right it is legal to stage second an light both bulbs as fast as you want
__________________
larry dowty 6388 SS |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|