CLASS RACER FORUM

CLASS RACER FORUM (https://classracer.com/classforum/index.php)
-   Bracket Racing (https://classracer.com/classforum/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Advice Needed (https://classracer.com/classforum/showthread.php?t=41202)

MattC 06-06-2012 10:56 PM

Advice Needed

Hello, I am new to the forum and was looking to get some advice. I am beginning to work on my late fathers big block Camaro after it has sat about 8 years. I am a plumber/ fitter by trade and have limited car mechanical experience, but I am mechanical.

The Holley fuel pump was seized and I got it working. Now I have a fountain coming from the carb vents when switched on. The floats are free so I was going to try a new regulator (even though it was free when pushing on it when I had it appart). The seat valves on the Holley carb seem free and loose.

If I get the fuel system working what should I do before firing it up? I pulled the plugs and shot PB Blaster in the cylinders and turned the motor over for 4/5 seconds to see if I could get oil pressure but no luck. I wasn't sure If I should continue without some advice. Thanks, Matt

rickseeman 06-07-2012 10:33 AM

Re: Advice Needed

How long has it been sitting?

MattC 06-07-2012 11:09 AM

It hasn't been started in about 8 years.

bobby 06-07-2012 12:52 PM

Your floats could be dry rotted and soaked up fuel and made them too heavy to float. You could have a minute' piece of trash in the needles. You could have too much fuel pressure. All these really need to be addressed. Even if everything moves freely, the above mentioned could cause a problem.

Welcome to the forum. What's your location?

rickseeman 06-07-2012 12:56 PM

You know the cylinders are going to be rusty. And a lot of other things. I understand why you don't want to tear it down, Pandora's box kind of deal. After you get the fuel pressure right, if it will spark it will probably run. I would probably change the oil filter again after 30 minutes.