HOME FORUM RULES CONTACT

Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > Stock and Super Stock Tech
Register Photo Gallery FAQ Community Calendar

Old 09-22-2007, 10:07 PM   #1
chupiw

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default replacement 12 bolt rear

Since original 12 bolt rears are getting harder to find, Is a moser replacement 12 bolt rear legal for stock class? Forgive me for asking and maybe sounding dumb, I am new to stock class racing. I need to get a new rule book, lost the one i had, but if memory serves me correctly you have to use a factory type rear. I know that there are grey areas where rules are concerned, so I was wondering if anyone is using a newer repacement 12 bolt like the Moser and passing tech. It just seems like it would be nice to use a new setup.
Any information appreciated. Thanks
chupiw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 11:03 PM   #2
RIBEIRO RACING

Thumbs up Re: replacement 12 bolt rear

Chupiw,

Yes, you can and that's a good move..They make a very good set-up, that bolts right in to your car.............LOL................ Dave...1033/stock(350 pont)

Last edited by RIBEIRO RACING; 09-22-2007 at 11:12 PM.
Old 09-22-2007, 11:21 PM   #3
chupiw

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: replacement 12 bolt rear

Thanks Dave, I figured I could go that route, I am hesitant about building up a housing that is 30 years+ old, I would rather invest the money in a complete moser setup that will bolt right in with all new parts. I am trying to build as solid and reliable setup as possible and I dont want to do things twice.
chupiw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 11:38 PM   #4
Alan Roehrich
VIP Member

Liked 1,218 Times in 313 Posts

Most all of the companies that sell rear ends use the KTRE housing for their heavy duty 12 bolt stuff. The KTRE housing is great, because it is thick, and stiff, and you can get it with a 3.250 carrier bearing bore, so you can use an aluminum spool and 35 spline axles.
Old 09-23-2007, 01:29 AM   #5