HOME MAGAZINE FORUM RULES SPONSORS CONTACT
     
   
   
 
Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > .90 Heads Up Class Racing Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2017, 11:21 PM   #1
Bill Baer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Nothern IL
Posts: 592
Default Separate back up button?

Does anyone use a separate back up button to put their PG solenoid in to engage reverse without engaging the delay box/throttle stop or starting line control cylinder?
I'm thinking I could wire one in the circuit with a diode preventing feedback to the delay box but I don't have any knowledge concerning diode sizing or ratings etc.
Can one of you Guys help me out with this?
__________________
Bill Baer 3391 SC, 339B SC, QR
Bill Baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 10:09 AM   #2
voltdr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 535
Default Re: Separate back up button?

You don't need a diode. The 12V when put to the transbrake is on the output terminal of the delay box and does not cause any issues in the delay box.
Dan
voltdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 03:03 PM   #3
63corvette
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canyon, Tx
Posts: 389
Default Re: Separate back up button?

The Don Davis race car wiring diagram is setup that way for wiring the Davis cars.
I wired my own and did not use the separate button/switch because I thought it might accidently get tripped while moving to the staging lanes in low gear causing a real issue.
The wiring diagram showed a simple on/off switch and I have looked at a few Davis cars which had the switch mounted on the dash panel.
I just chose not to use one.
Just My 2 Cents
Rick Cates
Canyon, TX
63corvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 03:26 PM   #4
voltdr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 535
Default Re: Separate back up button?

I've used them in the past. I just used a toggle switch mounted on the dash, that way there wasn't a chance of accidentally hitting it while driving around, and I didn't have to hold the button down while turning the wheel.
Dan
voltdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 03:58 PM   #5
Lenny5160
Member
 
Lenny5160's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN
Posts: 335
Default Re: Separate back up button?

One side of button to +12 volts, the other side of the button to the Transbrake terminal of the delay box. That's it; no problems.
__________________
Tony Leonard
S/ST 5160
S/C 5160
Lenny5160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 04:32 PM   #6
Jeff Stout
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: phoenix
Posts: 646
Default Re: Separate back up button?

Could you use a momentary switch. You would have to steer with 1 hand and hold switch to go in reverse. That way you will never forget to flip toggle switch.
Jeff Stout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 07:58 PM   #7
SGSST109E
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 164
Default Re: Separate back up button?

I use a toggle switch on the steering, just parallel the transbrake button. I use a red aircraft cover which protects the switch from being accidently hit.
SGSST109E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 12:00 PM   #8
Lenny5160
Member
 
Lenny5160's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN
Posts: 335
Default Re: Separate back up button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Stout View Post
Could you use a momentary switch. You would have to steer with 1 hand and hold switch to go in reverse. That way you will never forget to flip toggle switch.
In my dragster, I use a small microswitch on the top framerail in the cockpit. I can only have one hand on the steering wheel, but turning the wheel doesn't affect my ability to hold onto the button.
__________________
Tony Leonard
S/ST 5160
S/C 5160
Lenny5160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 02:40 PM   #9
voltdr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 535
Default Re: Separate back up button?

If you use a toggle switch, you won't forget that it's on. As soon as you put the trans in low gear, to move forward, the brake will be applied. Then you know you have to turn off the switch.
Dan
voltdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 07:16 PM   #10
Shake & Bake
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 189
Default Re: Separate back up button?

My trans brake button I use to back-up is mounted on a bar overhead right next to my dome light.....It isn't hot all the time...I flip a switch to put power to it, back up and then turn the switch back off..
Shake & Bake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Class Racer.com. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.Ad Management plugin by RedTyger