HOME FORUM RULES CONTACT

Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > Bracket Racing
Register Photo Gallery FAQ Community Calendar

Old 10-13-2013, 07:41 PM   #1
TDCRACING

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default air fuel ratio?

Hey guys I'm trying to figure out if my bracket car would benefit from a air fuel guage.I have an narrow band gauge already (not installed yet)and dont really want to buy a wide band as i think the money could be spent better somewhere else. but was wondering if anybody knew anything about them or a good article. Its a carbed sbc low 10sec car if it helps. Thanks Dave
TDCRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 07:30 AM   #2
1320racer
VIP Member

Liked 424 Times in 204 Posts
Default Re: air fuel ratio?

I've been tuning my bracket cars and others, sbc and bbc for nearly 25 years and I never used an air/fuel gauge or wide band and my current bracket car runs well in the 8's. Jet for best MPH and a richer not leaner is best for consistency.
1320racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:15 PM   #3
TDCRACING

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Thats what i do, but recently ive seen alot of cars at the track with oxygen sensors. just thought I was missing something. Since i work on the newer automobiles I understand the sensors and such.
Old 10-28-2013, 11:13 PM   #4
nomad

Liked 6 Times in 3 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1320racer View Post
I've been tuning my bracket cars and others, sbc and bbc for nearly 25 years and I never used an air/fuel gauge or wide band and my current bracket car runs well in the 8's. Jet for best MPH and a richer not leaner is best for consistency.
An O2 sensor is not the end all. It's just one tool in your tool box. I use an O2 with my data recorder but, at the end of the day I'm still checking plugs and jetting for MPH.
nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 05:48 PM   #5
Belvedere II

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts