HOME FORUM RULES CONTACT

Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > Stock and Super Stock
Register Photo Gallery FAQ Community Calendar

Old 12-04-2020, 05:20 AM   #1
outlaw

Liked 58 Times in 33 Posts
Default True Story

Growing up dad always had hot rods and I started working on cars very young once I graduated from drop light holder. We never took any of dads cars to the track. I started working for long time div. 4 racer John Turley in his shop in the mid 80's when I was 17. I hadn't worked there long and he would line me out on what needed to be done in the mornings and leave and on several occasions I was working on his 69 super stock mustang. He's friends would stop by while I was alone once when I was pulling the engine out and their jaws would hit the floor and say does John know you're doing that and my reply he told me to. This happened several times with different friends of his once I had the carb tore to pieces among other things. One day Turley says he has a friend coming up for dinner from a town about thirty miles away and wanted me to change the oil in friends car while they ate. Tells me the mans name which means nothing to me because I knew nothing about drag racing at the time. The man shows up in a new Chrysler k car looks at me with a look that scared me to death and says something like boy don't mess my car up to which I said nothing and I'm 17 and thinking anybody can change the oil and service a car. I changed the oil in that car several times and the man scared the crap out of me everytime before moving to another job. It took me several years before I figured out I was a deluxe oil changer then the scary man was Div. 4 tech man Red Anderson. To this day I find both of those things hard to believe. To Red's defense it was a k car.

Terry Hindsley
outlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2020, 11:49 AM   #2
Randall Klein

Liked 317 Times in 66 Posts
Default Re: True Story