HOME MAGAZINE FORUM RULES SPONSORS CONTACT
     
   
   
Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > .90 Heads Up Class Racing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2019, 05:25 AM   #1
BKSG1198
VIP Member
 
BKSG1198's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Back in Vineland, NJ
Posts: 1,812
Likes: 15
Liked 141 Times in 53 Posts
Question Leaving before Tree question

Hopefully, someone can shed some light on this question since I want to make sure my Series is on the same page of rules as NHRA. At the first race of the season for the .90 series, a driver had the earned bye-run in the 2nd round, he put both bulbs on, put it on the wood but, had it in high heat so he rolled the beams before the tree was ever activated. To me and the track officials this was always considered a DQ because they got no time and left before the tree was activated. The past weekend at Epping I saw the same thing happen in first round of SG but, the driver just got NT on the sheet and was allowed to move onto Round 2 and actually won that next round. I’m not pointing fingers but, just trying to get clarification as to what the rule is Incase this happens again. I know it might be a rare occurrence but, trying to prevent a misjudgment or someone being DQed when they shouldn’t be.
BKSG1198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 07:44 AM   #2
Tom Goldman
VIP Member
 
Tom Goldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Allentown,PA
Posts: 2,206
Likes: 213
Liked 175 Times in 57 Posts
Default Re: Leaving before Tree question

Rob, Technically ,the racer is supposed to stage both lights and wait for the green.
However , I've seen what occurred with Larry's run at Eppping several times in the past .Most times it happens because the starter is late activating the tree on the single and the racer is on the converter longer than usual and just lets go.
Unfortunately, the starter has no way of knowing if the racer is just taking the green or going to make a pass.
In larrys case,he told me the air gap closed up on the clutch and drug him thru the lights.
It's happened to me in the past and I have been both tossed out and given the run . It's the starters discretion.
As far as our series goes , I see no reason why the racer cant just turn on the lights and back up.
__________________
Tom Goldman 1500 SG , 1506 STK
Tom Goldman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 09:10 AM   #3
BKSG1198
VIP Member
 
BKSG1198's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Back in Vineland, NJ
Posts: 1,812
Likes: 15
Liked 141 Times in 53 Posts
Default Re: Leaving before Tree question

Thanks Tom,
Just trying to get clarification on the rule. You know well that the .90 series championships usually go down to the last race of the year and I hate to see someone lose a race because they got DQed a round and that was the deciding factor. I emailed Dave but, still haven’t got a response. Jun, DJ and myself all thought the rule was a DQ so that’s what we went with. I mean George admitted he messed up and had it in high gear but, maybe it should be asked in the lanes on a bye if they are taking the tree or running it out. I know when I can I ask the Racer what the plann of attack is.

See you tonight,
Rob
BKSG1198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 06:28 PM   #4
Rich Biebel
VIP Member
 
Rich Biebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey suburbs
Posts: 2,097
Likes: 16
Liked 210 Times in 106 Posts
Default Re: Leaving before Tree question

Been there and done that and was NOT DQ'ed and should not have been....Lucas Oil Series race and I won the race...I flinched on the semi bye.....Tree activated and I was way red.....NOT LBTA though....

Stage under your own power....redlight or LBTA or suppose your trans brake wire falls off and car goes thru......You're not DQ'ed and get the round win and an opportunity to fix it and move on....

Cant cross center line or outer boundary.....

I Don't think you should have DQ'ed the racer on that bye.....
__________________
Rich Biebel
S/C 1479
Rich Biebel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 06:48 PM   #5
Jeff Stout
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: phoenix
Posts: 863
Likes: 8
Liked 194 Times in 61 Posts
Default Re: Leaving before Tree question

If driver left before starter activated tree he is out. The track is considered unsafe until starter gives the ok by activating tree. Time slip will show driver left before activation.
If starter does activate tree and you go way red and get a ticket stating starter activated tree and you left after that but before green your ok for next round.
Jeff Stout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 07:06 PM   #6
Rich Biebel
VIP Member
 
Rich Biebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey suburbs
Posts: 2,097
Likes: 16
Liked 210 Times in 106 Posts
Default Re: Leaving before Tree question

That makes sense Jeff but it should be clearly known by racers and officials if that's the case.....

If it is true than anyone who elects to make a bye run, runs the risk of being DQ'ed if they LBTA.......and I would stage and never go to WOT on a trans brake.....

It's always going to be up to the race director.....but should be clear....
__________________
Rich Biebel
S/C 1479
Rich Biebel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 07:13 PM   #7
Jeff Stout
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: phoenix
Posts: 863
Likes: 8
Liked 194 Times in 61 Posts
Default Re: Leaving before Tree question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Biebel View Post
That makes sense Jeff but it should be clearly known by racers and officials if that's the case.....

If it is true than anyone who elects to make a bye run, runs the risk of being DQ'ed if they LBTA.......and I would stage and never go to WOT on a trans brake.....

It's always going to be up to the race director.....but should be clear....
It took me a minute to figure out LBTA.
Jeff Stout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 07:24 PM   #8
Rich Biebel
VIP Member
 
Rich Biebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey suburbs
Posts: 2,097
Likes: 16
Liked 210 Times in 106 Posts
Default Re: Leaving before Tree question

LBTA is what's on the et slip....I didn't make it up....LOL
__________________
Rich Biebel
S/C 1479
Rich Biebel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 12:59 PM   #9
SST159
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 245
Likes: 2
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Leaving before Tree question

Isn’t auto start activated once the bottom stage bulb comes on??
__________________
Drew Wonderly
SST 159
SST159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 02:54 PM   #10
Rich Biebel
VIP Member
 
Rich Biebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey suburbs
Posts: 2,097
Likes: 16
Liked 210 Times in 106 Posts
Default Re: Leaving before Tree question

Watching D3TV and the S/C semis...

One driver broke and was pushed back
Other driver gets a broke bye.....Stages and tree seemed to take forever to go green. Driver lets go and the announcer goes silent...

Screen shows a -.368 redlight with no incrementals and no times. Does not show LBTA.....
Driver gets the win....moves to the final...vs Bogacki....

Other categories had some byes in late rounds and most just took the tree and backed out....
__________________
Rich Biebel
S/C 1479
Rich Biebel is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright © Class Racer.com. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.Ad Management plugin by RedTyger