HOME FORUM RULES CONTACT

Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > Stock and Super Stock Tech
Register Photo Gallery FAQ Community Calendar

Old 07-23-2021, 09:45 AM   #1
Ronnie1858

Liked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default Header Question

I am a newbie to the Stock game, so forgive me if this seems like a goofy question. I have a 1971 Chevelle SS with a 454, and Hooker 2265 2 1/8" headers. They broke at the flange on a recent run, and no one has new ones. Am told by various distributors that the soonest they can get new ones is November. I have found a source for Doug's D331 headers that have them in stock now, and they appear to be very similar to the Hookers. My question for the folks out there is if anyone has any experiences with Doug's headers that they can share with me, to let me know if going ahead and buying these is a wise decision, or should I just wait until November?

My thanks in advance to anyone who answers this.

Ron
Ronnie1858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2021, 10:10 AM   #2
Ralph A Powell

Liked 202 Times in 123 Posts
Default Re: Header Question

Can you weld the old ones? Or cut the flange between each cylinder. They might even seal better on the head.
Ralph A Powell is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked
Old 07-23-2021, 10:51 AM   #3
Ronnie1858

Liked 4 Times in 2 Posts

It is the tubing that broke, and it is ceramic coated, local welding shop won't touch it.
Old 07-23-2021, 11:47 AM   #4
Jim Caughlin

Liked 693 Times in 208 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronnie1858 View Post
It is the tubing that broke, and it is ceramic coated, local welding shop won't touch it.
I have begrudgingly repaired coated mild steel headed tubes over the years for customers but it is a miserable and ugly method of doing a repair. Trying to get the coating off in order to do a decent weld is next to impossible. You can probably get this done as a temporary repair but not a good long term fix.

Jim Caughlin
SS6019