|
![]() |
#1 |
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Miles From Nowhere
Posts: 7,809
Likes: 2,900
Liked 5,113 Times in 1,948 Posts
|
![]()
I won't call it a rerun because they didn't go down the track,initially .
Ron U vs Dave Turner What was the determination and the rationale behind it? Alan never said a word about it during the re-stage. Makes me wonder if he was not supposed to... Anybody know?
__________________
"We are lucky we don't get as much Government as we pay for." Will Rogers |
![]() |
![]() |
Liked |
![]() |
#2 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Dela-where?
Posts: 2,193
Likes: 1,160
Liked 1,877 Times in 577 Posts
|
![]()
Watched that several times, figured they both were done, not a word
__________________
KEITH MAYERS 2-1/2 X somebody Still many X nobody |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#3 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pontiac,il.
Posts: 1,198
Likes: 281
Liked 963 Times in 193 Posts
|
![]()
??????
Last edited by Lyn Smith; 03-03-2024 at 07:06 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Miles From Nowhere
Posts: 7,809
Likes: 2,900
Liked 5,113 Times in 1,948 Posts
|
![]()
Yes, I saw all that.
Was there a precedent for the way it was handled? Did the DD have to research it before proceeding with the re-stage? That was my question.
__________________
"We are lucky we don't get as much Government as we pay for." Will Rogers |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Dela-where?
Posts: 2,193
Likes: 1,160
Liked 1,877 Times in 577 Posts
|
![]()
Go back and look it wasn’t just an instant. It was at least two seconds may have been on longer, but they had the last pairs run up on the screen before you could see it.
__________________
KEITH MAYERS 2-1/2 X somebody Still many X nobody |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 |
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 236
Likes: 1,043
Liked 66 Times in 30 Posts
|
![]()
Disclaimer: my interpretation only (but I was there next to the cars).
While pre-staging, Dave accidentally rolled too deep and lit both bulbs. He realized his mistake right away, and with the Courtesy Staging rule in mind he grabbed reverse and backed out. Ron in the meantime had prestaged before Dave backed clear of the stage beam, and with three stage lights lit at the same time the Autostart countdown was triggered. Before both cars could fully stage the timer ran out, triggering the reds. After what was likely a throrough discussion in the tower the decision came down to allow them both to run the pair. As what transpired was a direct result of trying to comply with the Courtesy Stage rule and the timeout was an unfortunate by-product, I think that NHRA made the right call. I'll repeat, this is my interpretation only of the event as I saw it. |
![]() |
![]() |
Liked |
![]() |
#7 | |
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Miles From Nowhere
Posts: 7,809
Likes: 2,900
Liked 5,113 Times in 1,948 Posts
|
![]() Quote:
Apparently, this is one of the flukes that can happen with Autostart, which I was never a fan of. It's part of the reason why we're not allowed to deep stage, even though the pro's can.
__________________
"We are lucky we don't get as much Government as we pay for." Will Rogers |
|
![]() |
![]() |
Liked |
![]() |
#8 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schomberg, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,222
Likes: 1,606
Liked 364 Times in 138 Posts
|
![]()
I plan not to tempt fate again.
![]()
__________________
Dave Turner SS/GT #1153 |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Dela-where?
Posts: 2,193
Likes: 1,160
Liked 1,877 Times in 577 Posts
|
![]()
Just curious, is courtesy staging a rule for stock and super stock? I know it is for the .90 classes, if so it should have been held by the starter and Dave backed out by same
We have one time to get it right (backed out) then disqualified.
__________________
KEITH MAYERS 2-1/2 X somebody Still many X nobody |
![]() |
![]() |
Liked |
![]() |
#10 |
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 87
Likes: 18
Liked 154 Times in 34 Posts
|
![]()
I don't know if the rule has changed but in Stock/SS if you hit both both bulbs before your opponent prestages, it's a automatic redlight? But obviously it's up to the DD..
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | |
|
|