CLASS RACER FORUM

CLASS RACER FORUM (https://classracer.com/classforum/index.php)
-   Class Racer Builds (https://classracer.com/classforum/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   1969 Camaro SS/EA Build (https://classracer.com/classforum/showthread.php?t=78442)

Bpozzi 01-28-2021 05:17 PM

1969 Camaro SS/EA Build

2 Attachment(s)
We have decided to build a new Camaro for SS/EA. Currently we have a small tire SS/FA 69, but want to build a much more powerful engine courtesy of Robbie Draughon Powertrain so of course we have to build a car for it. We picked up a bare shell in Kentucky back in November and progress has been slow and steady . I’m building this car with the help of my dad, my brother Mike and our good friend Bert Powell. This is the first big tire car I have built, and I’m not a machinist or fabricator by trade, so please keep that in mind. My goal for this car is to build and do every aspect myself (except the engine.) I plan on doing all body work and painting the car myself as a challenge. I have been watching a tremendous amount of videos on body work/ paint/ chassis fab and have been reaching out to some great racers for advice and guidance. Attached are the two cars that we have built and currently campaigning and this will most likely be painted to match . Also is a picture of the car when we brought it home in November.

Bpozzi 01-28-2021 05:24 PM

Re: 1969 Camaro SS/EA Build

4 Attachment(s)
First thing was to get the frame rails put in. We used a frame rail kit that was pre bent and welded together for a first gen Camaro, we just had to trim to fit. We added a cover piece where the crossbar connects to the rocker to add a “finished look”. Like I said I’m not a welder, but really enjoy it and pretty proud of some of the welds so far.

Bpozzi 01-28-2021 05:29 PM

5 Attachment(s)