Reset in Stock Today
I won't call it a rerun because they didn't go down the track,initially .
Ron U vs Dave Turner What was the determination and the rationale behind it? Alan never said a word about it during the re-stage. Makes me wonder if he was not supposed to... Anybody know? |
Re: Reset in Stock Today
Watched that several times, figured they both were done, not a word
|
Re: Reset in Stock Today
??????
|
Re: Reset in Stock Today
Yes, I saw all that.
Was there a precedent for the way it was handled? Did the DD have to research it before proceeding with the re-stage? That was my question. |
Re: Reset in Stock Today
Quote:
|
Re: Reset in Stock Today
Disclaimer: my interpretation only (but I was there next to the cars).
While pre-staging, Dave accidentally rolled too deep and lit both bulbs. He realized his mistake right away, and with the Courtesy Staging rule in mind he grabbed reverse and backed out. Ron in the meantime had prestaged before Dave backed clear of the stage beam, and with three stage lights lit at the same time the Autostart countdown was triggered. Before both cars could fully stage the timer ran out, triggering the reds. After what was likely a throrough discussion in the tower the decision came down to allow them both to run the pair. As what transpired was a direct result of trying to comply with the Courtesy Stage rule and the timeout was an unfortunate by-product, I think that NHRA made the right call. I'll repeat, this is my interpretation only of the event as I saw it. |
Re: Reset in Stock Today
Quote:
Apparently, this is one of the flukes that can happen with Autostart, which I was never a fan of. It's part of the reason why we're not allowed to deep stage, even though the pro's can. |
Re: Reset in Stock Today
I plan not to tempt fate again. :rolleyes:
|
Re: Reset in Stock Today
Just curious, is courtesy staging a rule for stock and super stock? I know it is for the .90 classes, if so it should have been held by the starter and Dave backed out by same
We have one time to get it right (backed out) then disqualified. |
Re: Reset in Stock Today
I don't know if the rule has changed but in Stock/SS if you hit both both bulbs before your opponent prestages, it's a automatic redlight? But obviously it's up to the DD..
|
Re: Reset in Stock Today
I have never heard of someone disqualified just by lighting both bulbs?
AutoStart does not even activate until 3 bulbs are lit. The starter should have backed them out. |
Re: Reset in Stock Today
Quote:
I do, however know what I stated as in courtesy staging for at least the .90 categories is correct I have been backed out several times myself being I like to take a nice chunk of the pre-stage bulb, sometimes I accidentally light The stage bulb before the other person gets any on. and you will be backed out by the starter one time. And warned to only light one. My real question is courtesy staging in effect for stock and superstock? Either way, in this circumstance that happened in Gainesville, neither driver did anything really wrong and the rerun was well-deserved Update: I looked up the nhra rule, it is in effect for stock/stk. |
Re: Reset in Stock Today
Quote:
As you said, the starter will usually back the offender out. Much more common on test and tune nights, but I have seen it happen in class racing too. |
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:14 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright Class Racer.com. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.