HOME MAGAZINE FORUM RULES SPONSORS CONTACT
     
   
   
 
Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > Stock and Super Stock Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2018, 08:17 PM   #1
Rod Greene
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: TN and CA
Posts: 334
Default Clutch Switch

What kind of setup are you stick guys using for a clutch switch to control 2 step? I never had a switch on the clutch just button on shifter. Pics would be nice.
Thanks, Rod
__________________
Rod Greene EX NHRA MEMBER EX 7950 SS, STK
Real men shift for them selves. OK I have spent enough on Harleys now i'm slowly working on TA Challenger for D,E/S
Rod Greene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 08:51 PM   #2
Don Fardie
Member
 
Don Fardie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lakeville, Ma
Posts: 250
Default Re: Clutch Switch

I use a Biondo switch working off the Z bar. It allows you to dial it in so it releases just where you want it to!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180207_203639-1024x576.jpg
Views:	386
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	43939  
__________________
Don Fardie 1582 F/S
Don Fardie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 08:25 AM   #3
Tom Goldman
VIP Member
 
Tom Goldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Allentown,PA
Posts: 2,051
Default Re: Clutch Switch

Don's setup looks pretty nice.
I may have to try that on my next clutch job !
I've used the Jerry Bickel switch in the past which is a very heavy duty switch with molded in leads and an adjustable arm .
they also have a universal mounting bracket for it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	jbrc5509JBRC5509.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	62.9 KB
ID:	43941  
__________________
Tom Goldman 1500 SG , 1506 STK
Tom Goldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 08:41 AM   #4
terry1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Moncton, N.B.
Posts: 190
Smile Re: Clutch Switch

What is the issue with a switch on the shifter in Stock.
I believe the SS people are allowed one on their shifter.
Terry K
terry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 08:59 AM   #5
Denny Steward
Member
 
Denny Steward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: PORT ORANGE FL
Posts: 202
Default Re: Clutch Switch

Rod, you have a PM
__________________
Denny Steward GT/IA
Denny Steward is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 10:03 AM   #6
Ed Wright
Veteran Member
 
Ed Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 7,533
Default Re: Clutch Switch

Some Stockers have a switch on the brake pedal for their 2step.
__________________
Ed Wright 4156 SS/JA

Last edited by Ed Wright; 02-08-2018 at 10:03 AM. Reason: Still can't type.
Ed Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 07:51 PM   #7
Rod Greene
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: TN and CA
Posts: 334
Default Re: Clutch Switch

[QUOTE=Ed Wright;555487]Some Stockers have a switch on the brake pedal for their 2step.[/QUO

That would be quite feat. 3 pedals at once.
__________________
Rod Greene EX NHRA MEMBER EX 7950 SS, STK
Real men shift for them selves. OK I have spent enough on Harleys now i'm slowly working on TA Challenger for D,E/S
Rod Greene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 08:02 PM   #8
Mark Ugrich
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Auburndale,Florida
Posts: 100
Default Re: Clutch Switch

When I did mine , I drilled and tapped the end of the clutch pedal shaft. Then bolted a throttle lever from an old Rochester two barrel to it . Made a 90* bracket and attached it to the pedal support and used a standard GM brake light switch.
Mark Ugrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 08:02 PM   #9
Rod Greene
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: TN and CA
Posts: 334
Default Re: Clutch Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry1 View Post
What is the issue with a switch on the shifter in Stock.
I believe the SS people are allowed one on their shifter.
Terry K
Unless the rules have changed again. I believe the stockers have to have 2 step controlled by clutch. It is a stupid rule that just adds extra wiring and points of failure.

Thanks for the replies guys. I am exploring options on the set up. I assume that both those switches have to be adjusted every time the clutch is adjusted correct? Is one more user friendly than the other? I have figured out how to use 2 relays to lock the line lock and 2 step together just working on clutch switch configuration and location for ease of use.
__________________
Rod Greene EX NHRA MEMBER EX 7950 SS, STK
Real men shift for them selves. OK I have spent enough on Harleys now i'm slowly working on TA Challenger for D,E/S
Rod Greene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 08:19 PM   #10
Rod Greene
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: TN and CA
Posts: 334
Default Re: Clutch Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Fardie View Post
I use a Biondo switch working off the Z bar. It allows you to dial it in so it releases just where you want it to!
I went on the BIONDO web site couldn't find the switch. Do you have a part number?
Thanks, Rod
__________________
Rod Greene EX NHRA MEMBER EX 7950 SS, STK
Real men shift for them selves. OK I have spent enough on Harleys now i'm slowly working on TA Challenger for D,E/S
Rod Greene is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Class Racer.com. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.Ad Management plugin by RedTyger