HOME MAGAZINE FORUM RULES SPONSORS CONTACT
     
   
   
 
Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > .90 Heads Up Class Racing Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2018, 05:47 AM   #11
sst5167
Junior Member
 
sst5167's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: What Throttle Stop to use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by B1Ken View Post
I hate to admit my stupidity here but I put the APD Max Speed carb. on my Super Gasser two years ago and I still can't dial the thing. It really doesn't dial any better than the Quick Fuel carb. using an in-line stop. Obviously, I'm doing something wrong.
Do you have any kind of data acquisition, or playback capability? If so, how well does it lay down on the stop?
sst5167 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 02:59 PM   #12
B1Ken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 17
Default Re: What Throttle Stop to use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sst5167 View Post
Do you have any kind of data acquisition, or playback capability? If so, how well does it lay down on the stop?
Thanks for the reply. I haven't been here for 5 months, so my response is slow. I have a Racepak and it looks great on the stop. Typically 3850 rpm, dead flat. It seems the the consistancy issue is further down the track. This year I am trying a disc stop with a Quickfuel carb. One of the problems with the APD was throttle response. It always had a lag getting up to stall rpm (5800 on chip). This would result in inconsistent reaction times. The Quickfuel is not as flat on the stop as the APD. I have to play with either carb closing speed to prevent a "droop" when it goes on the stop.
B1Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 07:18 AM   #13
sst5167
Junior Member
 
sst5167's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: What Throttle Stop to use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by B1Ken View Post
Thanks for the reply. I haven't been here for 5 months, so my response is slow. I have a Racepak and it looks great on the stop. Typically 3850 rpm, dead flat. It seems the the consistancy issue is further down the track. This year I am trying a disc stop with a Quickfuel carb. One of the problems with the APD was throttle response. It always had a lag getting up to stall rpm (5800 on chip). This would result in inconsistent reaction times. The Quickfuel is not as flat on the stop as the APD. I have to play with either carb closing speed to prevent a "droop" when it goes on the stop.
Usually, a "droop" when it first goes on the stop is caused by either the float levels set to high, or the throttle stop closing speed is to fast. You do not want the throttle stop to slam closed. Slow the closing rate down, and I'll bet your droop goes away.
sst5167 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Class Racer.com. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.Ad Management plugin by RedTyger