HOME MAGAZINE FORUM RULES SPONSORS CONTACT
     
   
   
 
Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > .90 Heads Up Class Racing Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2018, 07:01 PM   #1
flash
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 55
Default throttle stop motor on dyno question

anybody dyno there supergas motors with stop on motor-wide open of course? then take the stop off to see the horsepower loss incurred by having that restriction on the motor.
flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 09:58 PM   #2
SC363
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Springfield IL
Posts: 20
Default Re: throttle stop motor on dyno question

Never on dyno but I always took my under the carb TS off to run Q16 with my SC dragster It would run 3-4 hundredths quicker.
SC363 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 05:04 PM   #3
Rich Biebel
VIP Member
 
Rich Biebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey suburbs
Posts: 1,834
Default Re: throttle stop motor on dyno question

My friend did.....and on Q-15 which is a 50-50 mix of Q-16 and a std fuel that I don't recall what fuel that is.....

His 582 with a Sunset Plate stop (tapered bottom) vs no stop was about 20-30 hp difference....IIRC....over 1000HP with and without the plate...

I borrowed his stop and won a race with it and also ran Q-15 for a while myself....
__________________
Rich Biebel
S/C 1479
Rich Biebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 08:03 PM   #4
Hacksaw
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 353
Default Re: throttle stop motor on dyno question

VP C-15 is a 50/50 mix of C-16 and C-14. Q-16 is an oxygenated fuel.
Hacksaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 02:08 PM   #5
Rich Biebel
VIP Member
 
Rich Biebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey suburbs
Posts: 1,834
Default Re: throttle stop motor on dyno question

Q-15 is a mix Gary Stinett supposedly tried and is what I was referring to.

A 50/50 mix of Q-16 and a non oxygenated fuel. I just don't recall what that fuel was.....C-14 or C-16 ...or ?


My buddy ran it for a few seasons and won numerous races with it.

His carb was calibrated for it.....and dyno'ed with it.

I ran it for a while and just upped my jets a few sizes.

It ran fine and is worth a solid 2 MPH...

Our friend and VP dealer supplied it to us at the races....

Very offensive fumes and I was more than happy to stop using it.....

You definitely know when your handling "funny gas" as someone once called it...
__________________
Rich Biebel
S/C 1479

Last edited by Rich Biebel; 03-29-2018 at 02:13 PM.
Rich Biebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 08:21 AM   #6
shawnfricke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 28
Default Re: throttle stop motor on dyno question

Q16 + C15 = Q15

I used it and we still run it in one car, works well as long as you're tuned up properly.

Shawn
shawnfricke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 11:27 AM   #7
Lenny5160
Member
 
Lenny5160's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN
Posts: 254
Default Re: throttle stop motor on dyno question

My 468 that I ran many years ago was about a 670 hp piece, and it lost 7 HP on the dyno with the stop installed vs a 4-hole spacer of equal height.
__________________
Tony Leonard
S/ST 5160
S/C 5160
Lenny5160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 04:48 PM   #8
Charlie Yannetti
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alpine, NJ
Posts: 382
Default Re: throttle stop motor on dyno question

We dynoed my SG 565 on C-14+.. with and without the throttle stop on the motor changed the power by 20hp average.. needless to say, going back to an inline stop...
Charlie Yannetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 06:38 AM   #9
Rich Biebel
VIP Member
 
Rich Biebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey suburbs
Posts: 1,834
Default Re: throttle stop motor on dyno question

Charlie I would not do that myself.....

Trust me when I tell you an inline stop is way more likely to cause your car to not run the number you expected it to....

Yea I am sure some people have had success with one and I won races with one myself , but overall a plate stop is a better choice.....

I tried various inline stops, changed cables, adjusted everything and looked for variations many times......different fuels......all the same result......occasional runs not where they should be and usually at the worst time.

I switched to a Plate stop.......2 different models......air operated.......and none of those issues.

I also am running more MPH than ever and using a plate....and on Sunoco Red or any other std fuel.....like X-16

Inline stop is good for bracket racing.....starting line control.....

I had both on my car at one time and could switch back and forth.

Took inline off and threw it in a Box..... A Plate stop for the win.....LOL
__________________
Rich Biebel
S/C 1479
Rich Biebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 11:30 AM   #10
Lenny5160
Member
 
Lenny5160's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN
Posts: 254
Default Re: throttle stop motor on dyno question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Biebel View Post
Charlie I would not do that myself.....

Trust me when I tell you an inline stop is way more likely to cause your car to not run the number you expected it to....

Yea I am sure some people have had success with one and I won races with one myself , but overall a plate stop is a better choice.....

I tried various inline stops, changed cables, adjusted everything and looked for variations many times......different fuels......all the same result......occasional runs not where they should be and usually at the worst time.

I switched to a Plate stop.......2 different models......air operated.......and none of those issues.

I also am running more MPH than ever and using a plate....and on Sunoco Red or any other std fuel.....like X-16

Inline stop is good for bracket racing.....starting line control.....

I had both on my car at one time and could switch back and forth.

Took inline off and threw it in a Box..... A Plate stop for the win.....LOL
Couldn't agree more, Rich. I use an inline stop with mechanical injection as you used to do. If I bring it all the way back to idle on the stop, it is good. I've tried carrying some RPM down the track, and it is all over the place.

The plate stop under the carb on my door car is very good.

I would gladly give up 20 hp for the stability a plate stop brings.
__________________
Tony Leonard
S/ST 5160
S/C 5160
Lenny5160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Class Racer.com. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.Ad Management plugin by RedTyger