HOME FORUM RULES CONTACT

Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > Class Racer Builds

Old 09-13-2016, 01:38 PM   #1
427FE

Liked 305 Times in 68 Posts
Default 1985 Mustang GT help

I have a 1985 mustang GT that I would like to slowly start building as a stocker. Im also a newbie to this style of racing. So I appreciate any answers!

Does the cylinder heads, block, intake manifold need to be E5 ? Does it need to be the original carb also? Is an aftermarket manual trans legal?

Thanks for any help!!
427FE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 03:40 PM   #2
rick lester

Liked 4 Times in 1 Post
Default Re: 1985 Mustang GT help

Heads, intake and carburetor must be factory and have proper part # as on NHRA site or CLASSRACERINFO.com. You can run an aftermarket transmission, used Liberty's and Jericho's out there and are pretty much bulletproof for your combo, T-5 will not last for long behind a stocker. 9 inch or 8.8 rears are the best choices, 9 inch stronger and has a better selection of gears, 8.8 uses less power to run. Lots of part available for a Mustang stocker. Don't limit yourself to just stock, car can be made to hook on small tire with a super stock motor, I have noticed the s.s. fields light on car count this year compared to stock.
rick lester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 04:40 PM   #3
FireSale
VIP Member

Liked 236 Times in 127 Posts

It's extremely important to get and read an NHRA rule book.

Read and reread the Stock and Super Stock sections from top to bottom several times before doing anything with a new build. Make up your mind and decide where you want to go with your car. Otherwise you will waste a lot of $$$.

And don't try to out think that book, either. I bought a $600 Holley carb that I thought would pass for SS and now know I need the $700 QuickFuel to be legal.

Good luck and ask,ask, ask.

Dale
Old 09-13-2016, 06:44 PM   #4
Rory McNeil
VIP Member

Liked 919 Times in 252 Posts