HOME FORUM RULES CONTACT

Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > Stock and Super Stock Tech
Register Photo Gallery FAQ Community Calendar

Old 02-08-2010, 01:46 PM   #1
D Styron

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Fuel Injection Question

Hello all,
I just got a new to me fuel injected bracket car. This is my first attempt at anything fuel injection so I am totally lost. This is just a mid 13 second bracket/ street car. You guys are all very bright and I thought I would start here. It is a fuel injected 302 in a 1979 Zephyr. The problem I am having is when the electric fan kicks on the engine starts surging until the fan turns off. It surges in park or drive. It has a k&N cone air filter open under the hood, no sealed box. I put a metal shield between the cone air filter and the fan and it stopped the surging in park but not in drive. I thought the air coming off the fan was hitting the MAF sensor and throwing it off, but the shield didn't work. As long as the fan doesn't turn on the car runs great, just don't come to a stop and have the fan turn on. I am lost as to what it could be. It has a tweecer tuner but I have no Idea how to use it. Does this sound like a computer problem, too much air hitting the air filter when the fan turns on,etc....... I am lost, please help.
Thanks,
David Styron
D Styron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 02:06 PM   #2
Ron Middleton

Liked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Injection Question

There are quite a few guys running that same system on the turbo 2.3l Ford stuff and you can go to the forum and probably get some help on that system. http://www.turboford.net/cgi-bin/ult...?ubb=forum;f=2
#4892 J/SA. We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.”
- Aristotle
Ron Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 02:08 PM   #3
mike natoli

Liked 52 Times in 16 Posts