HOME FORUM RULES CONTACT

Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > Bracket Racing

Old 11-19-2009, 08:33 AM   #1
Kris Kristofferson

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Top end racing tips??

Hey guys this looks like a cool board!
I compete in the semi-pro series at a local 1/8 track...

http://www.luskvilledragway.com/

Do you guys have any tips for gauging when to "get out of it" or "run through the backdoor". It is sometimes tricky when you opponent is coming down on you like a freightrain going 100 mph+++..
Thanks,

Kris
Kris Kristofferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 11:46 AM   #2
Freddie

Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Top end racing tips??

First off welcome..

Secondly if your in a Semi-Pro series, you should be giving us advice...

Not to be a smart ***** or anything but I find it kinda funny...

I have been racing for well over 25 years and finish line racing is something you just learn, each race is differant, and it all comes down to knowing your car and your spot on the track.
NMRA 2012 Outlaw 10.5 #10
Freddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 12:31 PM   #3
Kris Kristofferson

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

The name of "semi-pro division" is kind of misleading. They used to have a trophy class at the track that most of the rookie racers could particapte in. A few years ago, since the numbers were low, the trohpy class was eliminated. Currently the only division options at this track are semi-pro and super pro...

Now, the semi pro class is a mixture of pure beginner racers and 30 year veterns. I was participating in the class and it was tough for sure. I have read a few books on the subject from Frank Hawley and Frank McKenna (he has a interesting chapter on advanced bracket racing) and have tried to apply the techniques. Such as figuring out a reference point on your opponents car..

It is certianly a difficult thing to practice....
Old 11-19-2009, 02:25 PM   #4
JRyan

Liked 104 Times in 28 Posts