HOME FORUM RULES CONTACT

Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > Stock and Super Stock Tech

Old 10-10-2011, 08:45 AM   #1
randy wilson

Liked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Default ceramic bearings

Do ceramic bearings actually help performance, or no? This topic came up the other day. Your comments please.
Old 10-10-2011, 11:34 AM   #2
Jeff Lee
VIP Member

Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: ceramic bearings

Im getting them for my front wheel bearings and rear end bearings. I'm looking to see MPH not ET gains. But no, I have no actual experience with these.
Old 10-10-2011, 04:52 PM   #3
mtkawboy

Liked 50 Times in 15 Posts

The 200 mph plus bikes at Bonneville all use them. I cant speak for the cars but they must work, but they arent cheap.
mtkawboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 09:50 PM   #4
Pvt Parts

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtkawboy View Post
The 200 mph plus bikes at Bonneville all use them. I cant speak for the cars but they must work, but they arent cheap.

Anything and everything you can do to reduce drag is worth et. I had the first all roller bearing 4 speed in SS and it was worth et. I probably had the first ball bearing carrier in comp and my car would roll in the staging lanes when others would not. I had unknown "helpers" who would comment on how easy my car was to push. (In A/SM at 3,000 lbs.)

I have a friend who works on an IRL team. (One of the top qualifiers) They (IRL) only allow ceramic bearings on the right rear because of the cost. Otherwise the well funded teams would have them on all four corners. Cost.... $17,000 for the RR. If you wanna be fast, no stone goes unturned. You do it all. Does that answer your question???
Old 10-11-2011, 09:05 AM   #5
randy wilson

Yes. Thanks, but I believe I'll pass at this time. A little too spendy if they cost that much.
Old 10-11-2011, 04:33 PM   #6
Jeff Lee
VIP Member

Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts