HOME FORUM RULES CONTACT

Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > Stock and Super Stock Tech

Old 04-17-2008, 01:09 AM   #1
Jesse Knapp

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Stick verses Automatic (Stock Eliminator)

Since I have only raced automatics by footbrake and transbrake, I have no experience with a stick setup. Which one is the quicker? I do know a stick will mph more with identical et as an automatic. For example, everyone knows Bobby De Armonds camaro and how quick it is. Suppose he would swap it to a stick setup, would it go quicker, slower, or about the same, with a good stick driver? Whick one would 60' better? Thanks in advance for an answer. Jesse
Old 04-17-2008, 01:50 AM   #2
SSDiv6
VIP Member

Liked 1,453 Times in 541 Posts
Default Re: Stick verses Automatic (Stock Eliminator)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse Knapp View Post
Since I have only raced automatics by footbrake and transbrake, I have no experience with a stick setup. Which one is the quicker? I do know a stick will mph more with identical et as an automatic. For example, everyone knows Bobby De Armonds camaro and how quick it is. Suppose he would swap it to a stick setup, would it go quicker, slower, or about the same, with a good stick driver? Whick one would 60' better? Thanks in advance for an answer. Jesse
The main factors that would determine the performance is the clutch and suspension set up. Many times you will see a stick car put more MPH than an automatic, however, the auto will be quicker in ET.
SSDiv6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 01:52 AM   #3
greg fulk
VIP Member

Liked 5 Times in 3 Posts

now then this is just in the 5.0 Mustangs I've been around but...a stick is about .15 quicker...that being same weight same gear...but they "feel" alot faster!
Old 04-17-2008, 01:55 AM   #4
SSDiv6
VIP Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg fulk View Post