HOME MAGAZINE FORUM RULES SPONSORS CONTACT
     
   
   
 
Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > Bracket Racing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2012, 05:29 PM   #1
1979LX383
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Default 2 Step with Footbrake.

Hello I was wondering about using a 2 Step with footbrake. Its legal at my track as long as your not using a delay box. Just wondering if it would help any or if it would be a waste of time/money. I am thinking of putting a transbrake in later down the road.
1979LX383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:01 PM   #2
Matt Warner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lynden, WA.
Posts: 10
Default Re: 2 Step with Footbrake.

I am using a two step and footbraking in my car, I found it to help with consistancy in my reaction times due to it letting you leave at the same rpm every time and you can vary your launch rpm consistantly. Just strait footbraking you either have to watch your tach too get the rpm the same every time or do it by ear, this leaves too much room for human error in setting your rpm at launch. Though not as consistant as a transbrake with a two step would be, using a two step while footbraking does take one more variable out of it. Just my two cents for what its worth
Matt Warner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:39 PM   #3
1979LX383
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Default Re: 2 Step with Footbrake.

See that's what I was thinking. I'm gonna get one try it out an see what happens. Thanks
1979LX383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 07:49 AM   #4
Footbrake
Junior Member
 
Footbrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tonawanda, N.Y.
Posts: 35
Default Re: 2 Step with Footbrake.

I'm interested in anything that frees up concentration. I would really like to hear more about this 2 step and what you need to install it.. I have my turbo 400 programed with the governor weights and springs to shift w.o.t. at 5400rpm. Just do my burnout in 1-2 and stage it in drive and go. One less thing to think about,Shifting is 100% consistent.
Footbrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:35 AM   #5
jmcarter
VIP Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond Hill GA (and Port Ludlow WA)
Posts: 2,583
Default Re: 2 Step with Footbrake.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Footbrake View Post
I'm interested in anything that frees up concentration. I would really like to hear more about this 2 step and what you need to install it.. I have my turbo 400 programed with the governor weights and springs to shift w.o.t. at 5400rpm. Just do my burnout in 1-2 and stage it in drive and go. One less thing to think about,Shifting is 100% consistent.
Just do a search on the forum using "step". There's a lot of threads on wiring, pros/cons, etc.
__________________
Jim Carter
2340 Stock
2340 SST/2340 Super Stock
jmcarter is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Class Racer.com. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.Ad Management plugin by RedTyger