HOME FORUM RULES CONTACT

Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > .90 Heads Up Class Racing
Register Photo Gallery FAQ Community Calendar

Old 08-22-2008, 10:15 AM   #1
SG1809

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Everybody Who Tows a Trailer Should Read This

Hi All,
I spent some time this moring contacting several government agencies regarding the towing of trailers, RV's Motor homes,Commercial Operations etc. that effect us to and from the track. I've been involved in trucking for many years but I'm not an expert just sharing what I found and was told.

I contacted the Federal Motor Carrier Administration and also the New Jersey Department of Motor Vehicles, you can access their websites for further information. I copied several rules and regulations that I suggest you read and copy and keep with you. What I can tell you that allot of these rules are interpeted differently by Local Authorities. Being educated about this may help.

The person at the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Field Office said that if we have a paying sponsor then we are subject to the same rules as a Commercial Carrier or if we are compensated for Racing, getting paid to race etc. it is considered a commercial Operation. I asked him where that rule could be found and he directed me to Rule 390 on thier site. (see below). Also asked abouth Length laws and he stated that each state has it's own laws. (see NJ,MV below).

I also contacted NJ Division of Motor Vehicles regarding the registration of the trailers we use, I mentioned that both my RV Trailer and Car trailer (Living Quarters) were registered as Private Utilitiy Trailers code 22 and they said that was correct, that they are not considered Commerical Trailers. If we get stopped out of state we should explain that is NJ law.(See below).