HOME MAGAZINE FORUM RULES SPONSORS CONTACT
     
   
   
 
Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > Stock and Super Stock Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2018, 01:47 PM   #1
t.tosto
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default Man. trans for Stock

In light of Jericos decision to ignore us, what options have been tried for transmissions? Any comments on G-Force 101A, what price range? Thanks for any suggestions. TonyTosto 5302
t.tosto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 02:26 PM   #2
Matt Welker
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Clear Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Likes: 0
Liked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Man. trans for Stock

G-force, they are awesome to work with and have a quality product. We run them in both our stockers. They have used ones on ebay all the time or just call them and discuss options.
__________________
Matt Welker
Stock 1741, SS/AH 114
www.facebook.com/welkerracing
Matt Welker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 02:57 PM   #3
Sean Marconette
Senior Member
 
Sean Marconette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 860
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Man. trans for Stock

Tony,
G-Force, Call and ask if they have a trade in. It will be at a reduced cost, plus they will go through it and update it. You can get whatever ratios as well.

Sean
__________________
Sean Marconette
84 Mustang
5060 SS/N
Sean Marconette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 04:11 PM   #4
Robert Simpson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 781
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Man. trans for Stock

Are the G-101A easy to work on? They look like Super T-10 designs. Have never looked inside one.

Last edited by Robert Simpson; 10-24-2018 at 04:11 PM. Reason: Wrong text
Robert Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 04:26 PM   #5
ssracer3821
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ontario, OH
Posts: 214
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Man. trans for Stock

We normally run a Jerico but we put a G-Force in our Camaro and we really liked it. Shifted really smooth. Only diffference was that the handle for reverse went the opposite direction and its possible to put it in two gears at once so you have to be careful. I think the guy that bought our Camaro actually has the GForce for sale. Going rate for used seems to be about $2500-$3500 Also you will have to put a different drive shaft in the car - transmission is a different length. We have the Jerico in our Firebird that I think you sold to Dave Edwards - BUT I'd still rather have a G-Force


Hope this helps
Larry Buckingham
ssracer3821 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 07:40 PM   #6
Matt Welker
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Clear Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Likes: 0
Liked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Man. trans for Stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Simpson View Post
Are the G-101A easy to work on? They look like Super T-10 designs. Have never looked inside one.
Yes, they are not press fit parts, they are snap ring. You can rebuild an entire trans if you know what you are doing and have the parts in a very short time.
__________________
Matt Welker
Stock 1741, SS/AH 114
www.facebook.com/welkerracing
Matt Welker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 10:43 PM   #7
Kenny Bomar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: mphs tn
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Man. trans for Stock

Use to run jerico broke it a few times got a new g force now got it just a few weeks after ordering last February love it !
Kenny Bomar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 08:53 AM   #8
Nmbr1GMfan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 871
Likes: 7
Liked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: Man. trans for Stock

Does Gforce install the Racepak sensors?
__________________
Todd Greene
Nmbr1GMfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 09:26 AM   #9
t.tosto
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default Re: Man. trans for Stock

Thanks for all the replies, G-Force seems to be the preferred choice.
t.tosto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 11:30 AM   #10
Matt Welker
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Clear Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Likes: 0
Liked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Man. trans for Stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nmbr1GMfan View Post
Does Gforce install the Racepak sensors?
Gforce drills the inputs and installs the magnet. We also use a special (non standard) Gforce retainer/register. This retainer allows you to screw in the racepak pickup and it aligns with the magnet.

If you dont have a bell or need a BH, talk to Browell. They can tell you how to set it up, ask for Scott, he can tell you exactly how it works, what parts you need and the new machining on the Browell BH makes install of the trans and racepack sensor a breeze if you have the right/matching retainer for the BH.

The right parts cost more, but it is worth every dollar.
__________________
Matt Welker
Stock 1741, SS/AH 114
www.facebook.com/welkerracing
Matt Welker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Class Racer.com. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.Ad Management plugin by RedTyger