CLASS RACER FORUM

CLASS RACER FORUM (https://classracer.com/classforum/index.php)
-   Stock and Super Stock Tech (https://classracer.com/classforum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Schubeck lifters (https://classracer.com/classforum/showthread.php?t=51434)

treessavoy 01-18-2014 08:04 PM

Schubeck lifters

What's the proper break-in procedures for these lifters on a solid lift cam? Oil, rpms, spring pressure, etc.
This is my first times using these and I have been told that break-in is much like break-in using roller lifters, is that correct?

JimR

randy wilson 01-18-2014 08:24 PM

Re: Schubeck lifters

There is no break in procedure. But unless you have the full ceramic solids, I'd be very careful with the solid, or hydraulic ceramic bottoms. Cost me a good engine.

Jim Hanig 01-19-2014 12:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by treessavoy (Post 417045)
What's the proper break-in procedures for these lifters on a solid lift cam? Oil, rpms, spring pressure, etc.
This is my first times using these and I have been told that break-in is much like break-in using roller lifters, is that correct?

JimR

What ever you plan to race with CK the lifter bore .0017 to 002 and keep up with the pressure

Todd Hoven 01-19-2014 01:52 PM

No break in proceedure, set the valve adjustment and run em.
Be aware if and when your engine is in valve float, and run enough spring pressure. Nothing wrong with these if you pay attention. Many racers run these for a long time with positive results.

Robert Simpson 01-22-2014 01:55 PM

Jim, as the other said no brake in necessary. What we did when we did a cam change was take a spring shim out, warm the car up a couple times, checking things as we went. Then installed the shims back in to put the seat pressure where it needs to be, then run it. I know these steps are not necessary but I was extra cautious. We run a sbc, hyd set up. I know it is a different combo, but we run shubecks.

Robert

treessavoy 01-22-2014 08:18 PM

Thanks guys,