CLASS RACER FORUM

CLASS RACER FORUM (https://classracer.com/classforum/index.php)
-   Stock and Super Stock Tech (https://classracer.com/classforum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   ceramic bearings (https://classracer.com/classforum/showthread.php?t=36547)

randy wilson 10-10-2011 08:45 AM

ceramic bearings

Do ceramic bearings actually help performance, or no? This topic came up the other day. Your comments please.

Jeff Lee 10-10-2011 11:34 AM

Re: ceramic bearings

Im getting them for my front wheel bearings and rear end bearings. I'm looking to see MPH not ET gains. But no, I have no actual experience with these.

mtkawboy 10-10-2011 04:52 PM

The 200 mph plus bikes at Bonneville all use them. I cant speak for the cars but they must work, but they arent cheap.

Pvt Parts 10-10-2011 09:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mtkawboy (Post 287127)
The 200 mph plus bikes at Bonneville all use them. I cant speak for the cars but they must work, but they arent cheap.

Anything and everything you can do to reduce drag is worth et. I had the first all roller bearing 4 speed in SS and it was worth et. I probably had the first ball bearing carrier in comp and my car would roll in the staging lanes when others would not. I had unknown "helpers" who would comment on how easy my car was to push. (In A/SM at 3,000 lbs.)

I have a friend who works on an IRL team. (One of the top qualifiers) They (IRL) only allow ceramic bearings on the right rear because of the cost. Otherwise the well funded teams would have them on all four corners. Cost.... $17,000 for the RR. If you wanna be fast, no stone goes unturned. You do it all. Does that answer your question???

randy wilson 10-11-2011 09:05 AM

Yes. Thanks, but I believe I'll pass at this time. A little too spendy if they cost that much.

Jeff Lee 10-11-2011 04:33 PM

They don't cost $17,000 for a passenger car. Indy or F1 cars are another breed of car!
Call Jack & get a quote.

Mark Yacavone 10-11-2011 04:45 PM