CLASS RACER FORUM

CLASS RACER FORUM (https://classracer.com/classforum/index.php)
-   Class Racer Builds (https://classracer.com/classforum/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   1969 Chevelle Build (https://classracer.com/classforum/showthread.php?t=49361)

Andy Friar 09-13-2013 01:18 PM

1969 Chevelle Build

6 Attachment(s)
We are just starting the build on our Chevelle and I wanted to share because I am over the moon excited about it. I have never raced a car, but I have raced deep into the 11's on a Harley and I have been tagging along with my Dad as part of his crew for at least 30 years. (I am 6'4" and my Dad is 5'9" so I stopped fitting in his Super Comp Dragster when I was 15, or at least that was the last time I was allowed to get in it after getting stuck and breaking 2 toggle switches off the dash trying to get out) This Chevelle means a lot to our family. It was originally Jim Endicott's car, my Dad's best friend and one of 2 guys that got him on the track. It was an I/S record holder in the 70's as well as a back to back Track Champion car at the old Tri-City Dragway here in Michigan. It was raced from 1972-1978 when Jim passed and we bought it in 1994 from his wife. We put treaded tires, mufflers and synchros in it, then went to Woodward and other cruise spots. The time has come for me and Dad to go racing again.

Starting next year we will be hitting the local bracket races, with the eventual goal of going H or I/ SA then eventually a 427 engine to run with the big boys in C/SA. Paint and body are untouched since about 1975 , as is most of the car for that matter, and the flat tow brackets will stay on there forever. My Dad is the engine guy and I do the fab, machining, welding stuff. A new floor pan from Auto Metal Direct is waiting in the garage. I just joined this forum and so far I am very happy I did. A lot of knowledge and minimal amounts of ego's floating around in here. Thanks for having me!

Dan Fahey 09-13-2013 01:52 PM

Re: 1969 Chevelle Build